The short answer. We compared 13 firms that design and develop medical devices, our own company included, on what a buyer can check before a sales call: published rate, team size, ISO 13485 certification and scope. Only five of about 25 firms we checked show any hourly rate on Clutch, and none of the others publishes a rate on its own site. Team sizes run from under 50 people to more than 800. Certification wording varies a lot: some firms certify specific sites, some through a predecessor company, some do not state it.

A note on bias: OVA Solutions is one of the firms in the table. We list only what each firm publishes about itself or what Clutch shows, with the source and date, and we treat our own numbers the same way. If a figure about your firm is out of date, write to us and we will correct it.

FirmLocationsTeam sizePublished rateISO 13485Scope
OVA Solutions (us)New York; Florida, UK, Estonia, Ukraine62 engineers (own site)$125 per hour (own site)ISO 13485:2016 certified QMS, certificate 044-25 held by group company Canyon Medical Inc.Electronics, firmware, mechanics from concept to design for manufacturing; no manufacturing
CLEIOTrois-Rivières and Montréal, Canada; IndianapolisOver 60 experts (own press release)$150 to $199 (Clutch); minimum project $10,000+Certified (own site)Design and development, quality and regulatory, manufacturing support
Delve (merged with Bresslergroup)Boston, Madison, Philadelphia, San Francisco50 to 249 (Clutch)Not published; Clutch minimum project $50,000+Certified since 2021 (own site)Design and engineering to DFM and manufacturing transfer
Design 1stOttawa, Canada35 professionals (own site)$100 to $149 (Clutch); site says North American teams charge $125 to $400 and its rates sit at the lower endNot statedDesign to manufacturing setup, in-house prototype shop; several industries
Ensera Design (formerly HS Design)Morristown NJ; Bristol UK; Longmont COOver 100 experts (own site)$100 to $149 (Clutch, HS Design profile); minimum $5,000+Certified QMS (own site)Design and development; parent group manufactures
Kablooe DesignMinneapolis, MN10 to 49 (Clutch)Not publishedCertified; TÜV SÜD certificate valid to March 2029Design and development only
Key TechBaltimore, MDNot publishedNot publishedCertified (own site)Diagnostics, drug delivery, life science tools
Simplexity Product DevelopmentSan Diego; Portland; Seattle50 to 249 (Clutch)Not publishedCertified since 2019 (own site)Wearables, robotics, medical; builds then hands off to a contract manufacturer
StarFish MedicalVictoria BC; Toronto; Irvine230 full-time staff (own site)Not publishedCertified facilities (own site; sites not named)Design, development and contract manufacturing
Suntra MedTech Solutions (formerly Sunrise Labs)Bedford, NHNot publishedNot publishedCertified; Intertek certificate valid to April 2028Design, development and software; no manufacturing
Vantage MedTech (Sterling Medical Devices and RBC Medical)Lyndhurst NJ; Olathe KS150+ engineers (own site)Not publishedCertificates held by predecessor companies (own site)Design through manufacturing
Velentium MedicalRichmond (Katy), TXNot publishedNot publishedNot stated on own siteClass II wearables to Class III implantables, cybersecurity, contract manufacturing
VeranexRaleigh NC and 15 hubs800+ experts (own site)Not publishedProvidence and Minneapolis sites certified (own site)Design, engineering, clinical, regulatory, manufacturing
Data checked October 8, 2026, from each firm’s own website and its Clutch profile where one exists. Firms in alphabetical order after OVA. Sources below.

What the comparison shows

What each firm claims about its track record

FirmPublished claim
OVA Solutions220 devices developed; from idea to design for manufacturing in 6 to 12 months
CLEIOinvolved in more than 2,500 projects
Design 1st1000+ ideas turned into working products; 3 to 12+ months from concept to working product
StarFish Medical1000+ programs; 25+ years
Vantage MedTech1600+ medical devices developed; 98% on-time delivery
Veranex1000+ programs accelerated
Delve1,500 patents and 200 design awards
Quoted from each firm’s own site, October 8, 2026. Claims are not independently verified.

How to use this table

  1. Shortlist by fit: device class, technology (wearable, implant, robotics, diagnostics) and whether you need manufacturing from the same company.
  2. Ask every shortlisted firm the same questions: who exactly will work on the project, what the estimate is in hours and dollars, which files you own, and the certificate details.
  3. Compare estimates by hours and deliverables, not by hourly rate alone. Our checklist: how to choose a medical device development firm.

Where OVA Solutions fits

We are smaller than StarFish or Veranex and larger than most boutique studios: 62 engineers who have developed 220 devices, with a published rate of $125 per hour and an ISO 13485:2016 certified quality system. We take a device from concept to design for manufacturing, typically in 6 to 12 months, and hand over to the manufacturer you choose. If something we designed doesn’t work, we fix it at our cost. If you need clinical, regulatory submission or volume manufacturing services under one roof, a larger firm from the table may suit you better. See also alternatives to large medical device design firms.

Sources

What OVA does here, and where our responsibility ends

OVA Solutions is a medical device engineering group working under an ISO 13485:2016 certified quality system: 62 engineers, 220 devices developed, $125 per hour, offices in New York, Florida, the United Kingdom, Estonia and Ukraine. We design electronics, firmware and mechanics and take a device from concept to design for manufacturing. We are not a regulatory consultancy and not a contract manufacturer: the regulatory strategy and the submission stay with you or your regulatory consultant.

More from OVA: what medical device development costs, how to choose a development firm, answers from Lisa Voronkova, our quality system.

Updated on October 8, 2026.